top of page

Studio Lighting - A Journey

Light makes photography. Embrace light. Admire it. Love it. But above all, know light. Know it for all you are worth, and you will know the key to photography. - George Eastman

By Richard Hardt

Baby Steps When I first began using “studio lighting” I found a backdrop, stands and light for 100 bucks on Craigslist. It was a single AC slave flash bulb on a stand with a small silver umbrella. Cost $100 including the backdrop and stand. The kit was all pretty crappy by industry standards but I loved them. I used the setup for head shots people still use today a few years later. I was actually even published in my first magazine using that kit.

707843781.jpg
1410576852.jpg

(Impact EX100)

Moving Up Naturally after some time I wanted to experiment with some more powerful lights and more than one at a time. I bought some IMPACT EX100s, still cheap by industry standards but they helped improve my photography AGAIN. I used them for a few years, got published in a few more magazines and began doing a lot of work as a professional. As these aged I decided it was time for something else. $300-$400 for a kit of 2 lights I bought 2 kits over time.

423962417.jpg
584651296.jpg

Pro Status Then came my new obsession with Paul C Buffs Alien Bees. I had tried one someplace and really liked everything about them. With years of abuse on my IMPACT lighting kits I decided I needed something new and I purchased 3 Alien Bee lights and a few different modifiers. Never before was it so evident that while “Light is Light” some lighting equipment DOES produce better results. ($1700+).

I have never been a Gadget\Gear driven photographer and I had always (and still do) preach that Light is Light (a phrase coined by a very talented photographer Dallas J Logan) but Alien Bees definitely make it easier to make a better image. That being said there is NOTHING wrong with starting with less expensive gear and you can take very nice photographs with it. To me it has been a case of “Will it pay for itself and continue to make me money after that”.

____________________________________________________________________________________

Richard Hardt Born in USA, 1980 Richard is a published photographer based out of NYC. He is not long winded and prefers his work to speak for itself. He enjoys being challenged artistically and creatively. Along with Charlie Balducci, Richard runs a successful non-profit business called the NYCARTSCYPHER. (www.nycartscypher.com) The organization promotes positive values through arts and entertainment to today's youth. Another of Richard's endeavors is FACETIME An interactive networking event and talent showcase. The event focuses on helping emerging talent both learn and network in a positive environment in his 3000 sq foot bi level studio space on staten island. (www.facetimenyc.com)

Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Instagram App Icon
  • Flickr App Icon
  • Tumblr App Icon
bottom of page